Cristiano Ronaldo wins Ballon d'Or 2014 Ballon d'Or: Cristiano Ronaldo wins prestigious award for third time after sensational year

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the 2014 Ballon d'Or.

The Portuguese held off competition from long-term rival Lionel Messi and Manuel Neuer to win the prize at the star-studded Zurich ceremony 

Triumph: Ronaldo shows off the Ballon d'Or trophy

The Portuguese held off competition from Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi and World Cup winning goalkeeper Manuel Neuer to claim the prize.

Ronaldo, 29, has now picked up the award on three separate occasions, with his previous successes coming in 2008 and 2013.

It was another incredible 12 months for Ronaldo, who bagged a staggering 60 goals in just 58 games, averaging more than one goal a game.

The Real Madrid man notched a further 21 assists as Los Blancos made history with their 10th European cup success - alongside another Copa del Rey triumph.

WATCH: Cristiano Ronaldo accepts the Ballon d'Or

Carlo Ancelotti's men defeated rivals Atletico 4-1 in the Champions League final in May, with Ronaldo scoring a penalty in the last minute of extra time.

He has started the 2014/15 campaign in similar style, scoring an incredible 26 times in La Liga already after just 16 games.

Alongside that, he has bagged in all but one of Real's Champions League games, taking his tally to 72 in the competition - three behind Messi.

The Argentine again misses out on the prize, despite breaking the competition goalscoring record earlier this campaign in a victory over Ajax.

Messi struck a remarkable 58 times over the calendar year - and won the World Cup Golden Ball award - but finds himself runner-up to long-term rival Ronaldo.

Neuer meanwhile, comes in third despite winning the tournament with Germany in Brazil this summer, and playing an integral role in Bayern Munich's domestic successes.

Elsewhere, Germany boss Joachim Low won the male Coach of the Year, while Ralf Kellermann picked up the prize for the female game.

James Rodriguez pipped Stephanie Roche to the Puskas Award, with Nadine Kessler winning the Women's Player of the Year prize.

The Ballon d'Or shortlist trio were also named in the FIFPro World XI during the ceremony in Zurich.

FIFPro World XI - Neuer; Lahm, Ramos, Silva, Luiz; Kroos, Iniesta, Di Maria; Messi, Ronaldo, Robben..

Cristiano Ronaldo wins Ballon d'Or 2014 Reviewed by admin Ucop on 12:20 PM Rating: 5

No comments:

All Rights Reserved by Kickbola Blogspot Soccer Online News © 2014 - 2015
Powered By Blogger, Designed by Sweetheme

Contact Form


Email *

Message *

Powered by Blogger.